EMS Refreshers

Maintaining your EMS certification is essential to your professional career, and Greenwich EMS is here to support you throughout this important journey. We’re committed to providing the resources and guidance you need for successful recertification in the state of Connecticut and the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT). Our refresher processes cover all provider levels, including Emergency Medical Responder (EMR), Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT), and Paramedic.

As professionals committed to saving lives and providing the best emergency care, we understand the importance of staying up-to-date with industry advancements and refining our skills. Greenwich EMS is here to help you navigate the recertification process and meet these requirements.

Remember: Your dedication to continuous learning reflects your commitment to excellence in the field of emergency medical services. Trust Greenwich EMS to be your partner in this ongoing educational journey.

Greenwich EMS Refresher Classes

On an as-needed basis, we host comprehensive refresher courses for EMT and EMR professionals. These 10-hour courses are intensive, covering all local requirements and skill refreshment areas, helping you stay current with the latest practices in emergency medical services.

NREMT and NCRR Requirements

To maintain your certification, you must fulfill the requirements set forth by the NREMT and the National Continued Competency Requirements (NCRR). These requirements include mandatory hours of continuing education, which vary by provider level.

NCCP Hour Requirements
Total Hours
EMR 8 4 4 16
EMT 20 10 10 40
AEMT 25 12.5 12.5 50
Paramedic 30 15 15 60


For more information NREMT Recertification Guide



Airway/Respiration/Ventilation – 1.5 Hours

  • Ventilation
  • Oxygenation


Trauma – 1.5 Hours

  • ​Trauma Triage
  • Central Nervous System (CNS) Injury
  • Hemorrhage Control


Medical – 6 Hours

  • Special Healthcare Needs
  • OB Emergencies
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Pain Management
  • Psychiatric and Behavioral Emergencies
  • Toxicological Emergencies – Opioids
  • Neurological Emergencies – Seizures
  • Endocrine Emergencies – Diabetes
  • Immunological Emergencies


Operations – 5 Hours

  • At-Risk Populations
  • Ambulance Safety
  • Field Triage—Disasters/MCIs
  • EMS Provider Hygiene, Safety, and Vaccinations
  • EMS Culture of Safety
  • Pediatric Transport
  • Crew Resource Management
  • EMS Research
  • Evidence Based Guidelines


Cardiovascular – 6 Hours

  • Post-Resuscitation Care
  • Ventricular Assist Devices
  • Stroke
  • Cardiac Arrest
  • Pediatric Cardiac Arrest

Local or State Component

Local or State Component: 10 Hours

If the agency and/or state EMS office requires specific education, that education may be entered into this section. If specific education is not specified, these required 10 hours are considered flexible but must be directly related to EMS patient care.

Individual Component

Individual Component: 10 Hours

The 10 hours required for the individual component are flexible but must be directly related to EMS patient care.

Continuing Medical Education (CME)

All provider levels are required to fulfill their CME or CEU credits, which are critical components of recertification. These can be obtained in several ways:

  • Local CMEs: Attend local CME events to stay updated on the latest trends and developments in emergency medical services. Remember to collect your certificate or documentation upon completion.
  • EMS Conferences: Major events, such as the Connecticut EMS Expo, offer invaluable learning experiences. These conferences provide a wealth of knowledge, industry insights, and networking opportunities.
  • Online Educational Platforms: Online platforms provide a flexible and convenient way to earn your CME or CEU credits. Ensure the platform you choose is accredited by either the Commission on Accreditation for Pre-Hospital Continuing Education (CAPCE) or the Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the Emergency Medical Services Professions (CoAEMSP). These accreditations ensure that the courses meet the highest educational standards.